New Medic in Southern California

surfinluke

Forum Crew Member
I have looked through the forums and have not found too much information correlating to my question. I am a new paramedic that lives in north SD county. I am looking for work and am willing to travel anywhere. I am looking from Kern County all the way down to Imperial County. Does anyone know anywhere that I can stack up multiple 24 hour shifts or a place that pays *somewhat* decently for medics? (I know that doesn't really happen around here) Liberty up in Kern County works 72 hour shifts but I am trying to cover all my bases. Thank you for any help you can provide.

AMR Redlands, Rancho, and Victorville in San Bernardino County.

socalmedic

Mediocre at best
AMR in Ventura has mostly 24s and allows trades to work 72 hours at a time.

OP
OP
S

surfinluke

Forum Crew Member
TRSpeed: Does Hall offer 24 hour shifts because it would be a lot for me to commute up for 12s.

socalmedic and Addrobo: Do those AMR divisions have OT over 40 hours and what is baseline pay for the most part for medics?

Thank y'all for your help.

Unlike Riverside, San Bernardino County pays overtime after 8 hours as well as 40 hours. Plenty of double-time shifts available as well. 24s are available and protocols are awesome.

Baseline pay is $15-16 an hour.

TRSpeed

Forum Asst. Chief
Idk why i cant quote.

Hall is 40k/yr. Ot after 8 and dt after 12. the whole county besides the metro area of Bakersfield is 48 HR shifts. Which are XX00XX00XX00000000. 12 HR shift is the metro.

But amr riverside is OT after 40hrs and DT once you hit 13. Starting pay there is 16/hr.

There is tons of OT at both.

In Kern as you may have researched its a whole different system than Socal. Fire is not in charge here and they are BLS. Priority dispatching, excellent rigs and equipment. The rigs are all new Chevy type 3. All rigs get hand waxed every 2 weeks and washed once or twice a day. They got dual train horns, dual whelen, and an eq siren aswell.