New EMT supply question

Gabe0725

Forum Crew Member
I'm a new EMT on the scene & I'm actually starting w/a volunteer agency in mid-October & I was just curious as to what supplies I might need. I know boots I need & my stethoscope I already have. But other than those 2 items, I'm not too sure if I would need anything. I was told that the supplies we need will be provided to us but I was just wondering if there were any side supplies I should get on my own. I know w/a volunteer company, the supplies may or may not be that great so getting side supplies might be a good idea. Any suggestions? Thanks all!!!

Last edited by a moderator:

Simusid

Forum Captain
I bought:

1) Trauma shears
2) Pen light for checking pupils
3) Scope and cuff so I could practice on my own time
4) A watch because I didn't own one
5) A good small flashlight (Fenix) because the side of the dark highway swallows up the light from cheap LED lights
6) A small glove pouch for my belt

TransportJockey

Forum Chief
If you have boots, your ears, a pen, and a watch you should be fine. Just wait and see what they issue you.

mct601

RN/NRP
If you have boots, your ears, a pen, and a watch you should be fine. Just wait and see what they issue you.

This. You definitely want a watch and pen- just about everything else you'll need can be found on the truck somewhere depending on the company.

HOWEVER

I do not like the stethoscopes on the truck, and my standby job with AMR had me on my feet roaming a lot. So I went ahead and bought my own. Also, I now carry my own set of shears. I don't NEED to, but they have come in useful a few times, so their purchase is justified. I have not and probably will not buy a pen light unless I see that I need it down the road. I should carry a flashlight, but I don't.

You also want to see how your partners work. That will have a lot of bearing on what you need to bring to work outside of a pen and watch.

slb862

Forum Lieutenant