Need feedback from Medics

Vinceh

Forum Crew Member
Starting my EMT-B program next week. (Very excited) However, do you reccomend that I go directly in to the Paramedics course following the class? If so is it possible to work Part-time and effectively study for my classes taken? or.....Should I work as an EMT-B for a few months to a year and then get into the Paramedics program? Maybe take the A&P class as I work part-time? Any information would greatly be appreciated.

I would think it would be beneficial to go straight into the program while things are fresh.

Vince:wacko:

Shishkabob

Forum Chief
You'll find varying ideas on this, some people stating go straight in, some saying work, and some saying get an education before you go in.

It is smarter to get A&P, biology, medical terminology, and other health related classes done before you attempt paramedic as it will make it so much easier.

My view? Do what is best for you. If you think you need 6months -1 year of EMT experience before you attempt it, so be it. I didn't and I did just fine, but you need to do what makes you feel more comfortable.

medic417

The Truth Provider
Don't waste time waiting doing nothing as an emt. Get your education. Take the classes like linuss mentioned if not included in your Paramedic degree program.

MrBrown

Forum Deputy Chief
A&P I and II with lab
Chemistry
Pharmacology
Scientific research methods
English
Communications
Medical terminology

Epi-do

I see dead people
Check with the schools you are considering for medic class. If they require you to work for X amount of time, then you will have your answer about whether to go straight to medic class, or to work for a little bit first. Not all schools have a required amount of time working as a basic, but a lot of them do.

firecoins

IFT Puppet
go straight to medic school, do not pass go, do not collect $200

Yes you should take other classes.