Medic School Now or later

Sail195

Forum Lieutenant
So I have a delema and I know this has been beaten to death so I am just looking for some quick opinions... I am a college grad (have my BS in Physical Ed with a concentration in coaching and a Minor in Sport and recreation management) I graduated in December and went right into a EMT-B program in January and realized that I love it and want to do Medic. Now I have heard many diffrent oppinons about going right to Medic school and my original plan was to wait a year before I started Medic. I currently have a full time job in an unrelated field and would be leaving that for a part time job while in medic school and also just moved back home with the rents. As long as I stay at home if I start medic school in the fall I can stay on my dads Health Ins which is huge for me.... Guess I am trying to get some pros and cons... Thanks in advance for any help and advice you can give

Shishkabob

Forum Chief
If you really want to do medic, there's only 2 viable options;

Wait a year, take A&P, Pharm, Patho, etc etc to be better prepared

Or go directly in.

NomadicMedic

I know a guy who knows a guy.
If you really want to do medic, there's only 2 viable options;

Wait a year, take A&P, Pharm, Patho, etc etc to be better prepared

Or go directly in.

+1. As soon as you've met the requirements for the program, apply. Don't wait.

EMTinNEPA

Guess who's back...
Go to medic school. Don't make the mistake that I did and wait a year to get that mythical EMS gem "experience", unless you want to spend a year doing BLS transports, playing Taxi Boy for the paramedic, and spiking bags of Normal Saline.

Sasha

Forum Chief
Now now now now.

medic417

The Truth Provider

ResTech

Forum Asst. Chief
I come from the school of thinking that actual BLS experience... not doing transports, but actually providing patient care, managing the call, making decisions, etc within a 911 service provides awesome experience and gives you a hand up.