MA EMT-B Jobs/College Student

splintercell990

Forum Ride Along
Hi all - I've been lurking for a while and have found this site to be quite invaluable! A little background - I'm a certified EMT-B in MA (about a year or so now), and I currently work for my school's EMS unit (all members are certified EMT-Basics in MA) and provide EMS coverage at University programs (concerts, sporting events, the works...)

My main question is this - I'm looking to work for EMS agencies - to name a few: Patriot, AmBCare, Alert, AMR (I've heard mixed things). A few are on a hiring freeze - but since I am a student, I would only be able to work breaks during the year, full-time over the summer. I feel like this is a major disadvantage in getting hired by any of these companies, right?

When does most of the hiring take place? I heard it really depends on the company, which makes sense - but I was wondering if a lot of is done at specific times during the year. I know with the current economy, EMT-B jobs are becoming increasingly scarce...but I was trying to see if there is any hope of being hired as a student.

Manic_Wombat

Forum Crew Member
All I can tell you is that I am in the same boat. Except I go to college in NY and we don't have an EMS squad. I got reciprocity in NYS and now I am searching for jobs, but looking to be an ER tech at one of the local hospitals. Fun stuff, wish I could be of some help.

medicdan

Forum Deputy Chief
Premium Member
Welcome!
There are a whole bunch of MA college/university EMTs here, but as far as I know, I am the only one that works on a regular basis in the real world.
Where in MA are you going to school (I assume Central or Western MA?)? Where is home? Do you have access to a car during the year? Breaks?
What kind of time commitment can you give?