looking for input from paramedic supervisors

SixEightWhiskey

Forum Crew Member
I'm currently an EMT-B, going to school for my -P...my long-term goal is to make my way up to field supervisor and beyond, something in EMS management.

Can I get input from anyone who currently does this? What your career/school track was to get there? What your day-to-day is like? Thank you!

shfd739

Forum Deputy Chief
I'm currently an EMT-B, going to school for my -P...my long-term goal is to make my way up to field supervisor and beyond, something in EMS management.

Can I get input from anyone who currently does this? What your career/school track was to get there? What your day-to-day is like? Thank you!

Ill tell you what I know and my experience. Currently my wife and I are both supervisors for the largest privately owned ambulance service in the country--our colors are green and gold--if that helps. First some background. I started as an EMT @ 18 yrs old and became a paramedic when I was 20-Im 28 now. My wife and I started working as paramedics for our current company in 2003 right after finishing P school. At 18 I worked for a local family owned service as a nondriving basic on a BLS unit doing transfers and BLS 911 rollovers. Moved from there while in P school to a paid 911 fire/ems dispatcher job for the county's volunteer 911 service. When I became a paramedic I moved to my current company full time and went to dispatch part time and then field part time when the volunteer service added paid staffing. Ill toss in that in high school I ran a paintball shop and playing fields on weekends. Within 2 months of being incharge I took us from losing money to very profitable just by getting rid of waste, improving our efficiency and improving customer service.