AMA3004

Forum Ride Along
IV nitro - what do you guys think about it ?

As far as i know most systems have it as SL and transdermal, but IV, I would think there would be a significant change in the affect as it would be concentrated, and it wouldnt be as long lasting.

would you guys think it would be a good thing to have ? and if so, why ?

TXmed

Forum Captain
We use it at my service and although we have pumps, I would feel comfortable eyeballing a drip. And just titrate to BP. It only takes about a minute to wear off and the effects aren't as durastist like the SL. I also enjoy it because since it can be ran consistently it works better with the fluid bolus we give most STEMI's. I have limited experience with the transdermal but I am skeptical using it on someone who's shocky due to decrease blood flow and sweaty skin.

SpecialK

Forum Captain
We use sublingual GTN in the little red spray bottle. Standard dose is 0.8 mg repeated 3-5 minutely or 0.4 mg if the patient is small, frail or cardiovascularly less stable (i.e. BP a bit closer to 100 mmHg systolic or has inferior STEMI).

Intravenous GTN is not used and there are no plans to introduce it. It is more expensive and quite complex to administer, it could only be used by Paramedic or ICP level personnel, and I don't know of any studies which show it is better than standard sublingual GTN ... if it is, I'd presume it would only be in patients with heart failure and not angina or STEMI.

For that matter, I don't know of any studies showing GTN even improves outcomes for the patient in STEMI. It was originally intended for use in patients with angina pectoris and somehow wound up being used in patients with acute myocardial infarction, probably because the underlying pathophysiology is similar and therapeutic effect was presumed to be the same.