How would you teach your own EMT/EMP class, assuming you were the Instructor...

RanchoEMT

Forum Lieutenant
As an EMT I've noticed a lack of structure in most EMT classes (haven't attended Paramedic School yet) both from my own experience and after reviewing the class structures of different New Hires, EMT Ride Alongs, etc… Teaching in general interest me and I have found that most classes do not address enough of the “Core Principals” (e.g. Ability to track a Drop of Blood through the Body, Step by Step Assessment and call run through, etc.) and repetition of the manipulative skills we are excepted to master after the usual ‘once and done’ instructor run thru. Given the opportunity how would you conduct your own EMT/Paramedic Program taking into account but not limited to the following…..

-How would you structure your EMT or Paramedic Class?
Ex.
  1. Anatomy and Physiology
  2. Patient Assessment
  3. Normal Vital Signs
  4. Airway Emergencies
  5. Cardiac Emergencies
-What Curriculum, ideas, concepts, skills would you begin and end with in order?
-How often(frequency during the week)and how long would your class be in total?
-How would you structure your didactic/skills Tests?
-What would your “FINAL” be?
-Anything else I forgot to mention or that you would like to add?

DesertMedic66

Forum Troll
The EMT class that I was in was set up pretty well. It was required for us to be able to trace a drop of blood thru the blood stream and trace an air molicule thru the resp system.

The only thing I would have changed about my EMT program I was in would be to make it longer then once a week for 18 weeks and way more in depth. We just got the very basic info of medical issues. We are basics so that might be why only the very basic info is usually taught.

systemet

Forum Asst. Chief
* Current programs in my area are 2 years for a medic. I'd push the program to 3 years right away, and advocate for 4 years by 5-10 years time, e.g. 2016-2021.