How much CPR? For real?

eggshen

Forum Lieutenant
Came across an interesting case today. A few months ago (cold outside) adult F found down outside after a benzo overdose. Asystolic, hypothermic (can't recal temp) and received CPR for....get this, 5 hours 40 minutes. Walked out of the hospital neurologically intact. Anyone have any experience with a case similar to this?

Egg

KEVD18

Forum Deputy Chief
never seen it myself, but i've always been taught your not dead until your warm and dead..

Outbac1

Forum Asst. Chief
Egg
Interesting. Where was this case at?

CPG

Forum Crew Member
Long Duration CPR

I work in a hospital as security......

We had a fella come in after 3 hours outside in sub-zero temps at night, long and short if it was he fell and hit his head on the sidewalk. Unknown core temp.

We got him at 0230, we did CPR (about 20 of us) until 0600.

Warm and Dead....

Kimmy Schaub

Forum Probie
Wow lucky I'm sure the cold contributed to this because it slows the body's functions down

akflightmedic

Forum Deputy Chief
Came across an interesting case today. A few months ago (cold outside) adult F found down outside after a benzo overdose. Asystolic, hypothermic (can't recal temp) and received CPR for....get this, 5 hours 40 minutes. Walked out of the hospital neurologically intact. Anyone have any experience with a case similar to this?

Egg

Please for everyone's learning opportunity and my own morbid curisosity, please link the source of this case study, or cut and paste...whichever you prefer. There are finer details I would like to know, rather than "this one time, at bandcamp..."

Jeremy89

Forum Captain
Only code I've experienced was in my clinicals. We must've worked the guy for 40 minutes, switching off between compressions and pacing him. Must've used every drug in the book. He didn't make it...

On a side note, from an ALS perspective, can someone tell my why they tried Atropine before Epi??

Thanks!

firecoins

IFT Puppet