How do you keep up your energy?

RedheadErin

Forum Crew Member
Hey, everybody!

When I was young, I was in the army AND I got a bachelors degree while on active duty AND I had a boyfriend AND we traveled around Europe on his motorcycle AND I didn't get tired. My theme song used to be "I'll sleep when I'm dead!"

Now I am in EMT school and this is KILLING me. I only work part time while I am in school, and I spend most all my time studying. I'm in pretty good shape, I go to the gym, do active things eat right, and my only vice is caffeine. But I have no energy! I want to go on to paramedic school, and eventually critical care or flight medic, but I don't see how, if I am going to be this TIRED all the time. I'm 44 but feel 84 some days.

How do you keep up your energy on a day-to-day basis?

VA Transport EMT

Forum Crew Member
black coffee.
gatorade.
iced coffee from 7-11 (right now it's only $1)
Hi-Chew
salad
stay motivated and positive (your mentality will dictate your body's response)

maddogmedic

Forum Ride Along
Might be what you eat.

I, too, struggled with energy during the day. Not only do I work shifts, but I travel internationally a lot and jet-lag is much like shift work.

It sounds like you are doing everything right as far as keeping up your exercise. Good on ya! I'm in the same age range and I've recently changed my diet to lose weight but discovered that it had a really nice benefit of equalizing my energy level all day.

My wife and I read "The Four Hour Body" by Timothy Ferriss and I adapted my eating style to the way he suggest in the book. In short: for 6 days a week no carbohydrates or sugar. From Friday through Wednesday (the weekend is Thursday-Friday in this part of the world) I don't eat:

• White food (if it's white, it's probably full of sugar or simple starches)
  • Fruit or fruit juice
  • Bread
  • Rice
  • Pasta
  • Anything made from wheat
  • Grains
  • Sweets
  • Potatos & Potato products