Hip Replacement?

CobraIV

Forum Crew Member
I know this is an EMS fourm but I just have an orthopaedic type thought. I work as a CNA on a rehab floor. The closest thing to a hospital. You think rehab floor CNA, Cleans,Nasty,Asses. You think old crusty people who :censored::censored::censored::censored: themselfs and wear dipers. Thats what I thought atleast when I first started. It's alittle more diffrent then that. I see alot of things from knee replacements,vents,hospice, fluff and buffs , strokes all sorts of patients. Young & old.

Today was no diffrent. I have this patient, shes 85 years old alert and oriented history of arthritis in her knees and back. You tranfer her from chair to bed and see cracks like a floor board. The lady looks like Mrs.Clause very nice and pleasent but her bottom half is big and wide. She can't stand for more then a mintute. She tends to hunch over when she stands. Now how can a women like this take care of herself?

To get to the point, the lady has been in the rehab center for more then 4 months. She has now decided to go through hip replacement surgery in the hopes of being able to walk again. I understand the pain and arthritis is no fun and a replacement is sometimes nessacery for some patients but for a 85 year old lady who wont even walk into the bathroom, who rather stays in bed then go to physical therapy. Whats the point of going through surgrey?

Any thoughts?

Sorry if I am wrong for posting this. I see a lot of emt's drop off hip replacement patients.The stretcher to bed transfers don't always go that smooth.

firetender

Community Leader Emeritus
To get to the point...a 85 year old lady who wont even walk into the bathroom, who rather stays in bed then go to physical therapy. Whats the point of going through surgrey?