Headsets for ground ambulances??

NysEms2117

ex-Parole officer/EMT
I've seen a few pictures of ground ambulance crews having headsets, and just kinda wondering what is going on, because i can't see a reason for it? Anybody have anything on this?

DesertMedic66

Forum Troll
OSHA requires our company provide us with hearing protection from the siren. Our company decides to use cheap earplugs that no one really uses. Other companies supply their people with headsets.

Jim37F

Forum Deputy Chief
Hearing protection from the sirens? Locally I've only seen them on fire dept ambulances, and I think it's simply a carry over from the engine/trucks. One time when I was still at Glendale FD as an Ambulance Operator, I got the opportunity to ride along with an engine company responding to a structure fire call...because of the cab over engine design, they are fairly loud inside, so add in sirens and wearing headsets on the Engine or Truck company becomes one of the only ways the crew can protect their hearing while still being able to communicate with each other without trying to yell over the noise. So they def need them on their apparatus, so I get the feeling that the FFs just brought the idea over to their ambulances as an extension of that. Only the older reserve rigs when I was at Glendale had the headsets, even those we only used once in a while out of curiosity, never felt the need to wear them for normal day to day use, and even their newer ambulances don't have them, and I've never missed having a headset.

I think our Paramedic rigs have one in the back that's dedicated for the medic to contact base hospital via radio vs using a handmike or something while in the back (although most all base contact is made using cell phones calling a dedicated recorded line)

VentMonkey

Family Guy
IMG_0206.JPG

OP
OP
NysEms2117

NysEms2117

ex-Parole officer/EMT