Hard Decision

EmergencyMedicalSike

Forum Crew Member
So far, I’ve been an emt for an IFT company in LA County for 7+ months and I’m at a crossroads here. I either have the choice to go with a 911 company for 911 experience or skip that and go straight to medic school preferrably UCLA paramedic school. Essentially my main question is, is it a wise choice to go straight for medic school with only IFT emt experience?

NightHealer865

Nationally Registered Paramedic
If your end goal is to be a medic, go straight to medic school. PA’s don’t have to be nurses before going to PA school, and nurses don’t have to be CNAs. 911 experience as an emt is gonna be mostly limited when you’re on an ALS truck. I had 2 emts in my medic class that were fresh out of emt school and both turned out to be good Paramedics in the end.

mgr22

Forum Deputy Chief
I agree with NightHealer about going to medic school. Don't underestimate the value of working as an EMT -- even in IFT. Just dealing with patients, families, facilities and bosses is an education in itself.

hometownmedic5

Forum Asst. Chief
I object to any calender based criteria for entering medic school, for a number of reasons. One, I don’t think it takes very long to become a competent basic, and i think the 14-18 months of medic school, presuming of course that you’ll have to work while in school, should be more than sufficient to learn the basics of the job. Two, some people pick things up faster than others and some will never reach minimum competency regardless of how long you give them, how much personal direction they get, or the quality of the instruction provided to them. Essentially, you’re either going to get it or you aren’t, and i don’t think it takes all that long to do it.