getting hired as a new Medic in NYC

O 2

Forum Probie
Are there any services that have a history of hiring new medics in NYC that don't take a while to get hired on?

I'd be open to Jersey City, but I really do want to stay in the NYC system. I am going to go to Laguardia.

I have 4 yrs experience as an EMT-I & ED Tech.

Thanks!

P.S. what do new medics start at in NYC?

EMSrush

Forum Captain
I'm not sure, I had considered FDNY myself, but they do have a waiting list. I look forward to finding out what type of answers you get... :)

EMSLaw

Legal Beagle
I'm not sure, I had considered FDNY myself, but they do have a waiting list. I look forward to finding out what type of answers you get... :)

Also remember that FDNY doesn't hire people as medics right away. You have to work for them for a while before you can get "promoted" to ALS.

46Young

Level 25 EMS Wizard
Also remember that FDNY doesn't hire people as medics right away. You have to work for them for a while before you can get "promoted" to ALS.

How so? Before I reconsidered, I was going through their process to be hired as a paramedic. I think the "promotion" you're referring to is from EMT or medic to firefighter. It's commonly known as going backdoor, as in going to the top of the hiring list for FF, over everyone else, so long as you just pass their entrance exam.

46Young

Level 25 EMS Wizard
Are there any services that have a history of hiring new medics in NYC that don't take a while to get hired on?

I'd be open to Jersey City, but I really do want to stay in the NYC system. I am going to go to Laguardia.

I have 4 yrs experience as an EMT-I & ED Tech.

Thanks!

P.S. what do new medics start at in NYC?