Flight Medics??

FLEMTP

Forum Captain
Ok.. so our dept has an opening for a paramedic on our helicopter operations.
I submitted an application and went and had a meeting with the supervisor over the program last week. I definitely think im up for the challange on the medical aspect of things, I have 12 years experience in the field with lots of trauma experience from Detroit and Flint and a good amount of medical experience as well as some of what I call "ghetto CCT" experience... basically where they give you a pump, a vent, call you a CCT truck and expect you to take drips that you've never heard of... (looking bad.. yeah bad idea.. at the time i didnt know better)

The thing that concerns me is flying. I have a really bad fear of flying in fixed wing or commercial jets... but for some reason the idea of flying in a helicopter doesnt scare me in the least. Our helicopter right now is a BO105, we also has a BO145 but that crashed in august of 2009, and we are currently waiitng on our administration to find a suitable replacement. The crash was due to pilot error based on the preliminary NTSB report, no maintainance is no a concern of mine.. the program has some pretty strict rules about flying, when and where, etc. The heli that crashed has full ILS capability, autopilot, and dual engines, the replacement will have the same plus night vision goggles, the current one is VFR only and no autopilot.

more or less i just want those of you out there who fly or have flown to share some of their experiences and antecdotes with me about flying, fears or concerns and how you overcame those.

I am meeting with both the medics that were in the crash in aug, one quit the helicopter the other was back on board less than a month later. I want to get their perspectives on things as well.

Thanks in advance guys!

FlightMedicHunter

Forum Crew Member