first thread :P

Sera

Forum Probie
Alright so I just joined this site. seems pretty interesting :)
I start the EMT course next week full time (i'm actually a bit excited)
Just a small question.. is there anything I should do now (i have all my books etc) to prepare for next week? Also.. I've been working as a lifeguard for a few years now.. just wondering if any of the training I have taken so far will help me out at all?

divinewind_007

Forum Lieutenant
What all training did you have as a lifeguard? You can start reading some chapters if you want. Always helped me to read the chapter a couple of times before we went over it. Make sure you ask questions when you dont understand something. If your local EMS service dont mind then start hanging out over there...you'll pick up alot of info. just from listening to them, and most of them wont mind all answering your questions.

Jon

Administrator
Community Leader
Welcome.

Some of the stuff that is taught for basic lifeguarding classes is VERY useful.... in fact, I don't think I've met an EMT who knew how to backboard someone in water unless they had some lifeguard training (either red cross or Boy Scouts).

Basing off of what I've seen with the Boy Scout lifeguard program (as difficult, or more so than the Red Cross is supposed to be)... Basic first aid, CPR, and spinal immobilization are all big parts of the EMT job.

You shouldn't have too much trouble.

MariaCatEMT

Forum Asst. Chief
Welcome to the forum! :p Good luck in your class, I hope you do well. Given the skills you already have, I'm guessing you'll do just fine. Browsing through your book might be helpful, prior to your class. Please let us know how you are doing! Take care!

Chimpie

Site Administrator
Community Leader
Welcome to EMTLife!!

As mentioned above, readinhg the chapter(s) before going into the class usually helps, and going on ride alongs or even volunteering with a dept/agency will help you understand what you are learning as well.

FFEMT1764