EMT-B in the UK?

Parzival

Forum Probie
Hello folks. My name is Thomas. I'm 25 years old and I currently work as a geriatric-nurse in Germany. I'm myself a German too. :cool:
Next year I'd like to make a training as a EMT-B. The reason is that I absolutely not want to stay longer in Germany because of the increaasing centralisation of the undemocratic so called "European Union" the experience to life abroad and the "must" to speak another language than my mother tongue, and of course to work in a very interesting job where I can do a lot of good things and help people in "difficult maybe life threatening situations".:unsure:

My question is: Is it possible to get a job in the UK with a AREMT registered EMT-B ? Is the AREMT registration allowed in the UK or do I need another registration?

I hope you can help me.

Greetings from Germany - Thomas (Ps: Sorry for my "strange" English:wacko:)

OfficerEvenEMT

Forum Crew Member
In America we are all part of a Union and have a centralized government, one money standard, etc. It's not much different than the EU. If you're looking for a place that doesn't have the type of centralized government as the EU or US then you might want to head to Latin America, Asia, or one of the beautiful Caribbean islands.

Scott33

Forum Asst. Chief
My question is: Is it possible to get a job in the UK with a AREMT registered EMT-B ? Is the AREMT registration allowed in the UK or do I need another registration?

You could possibly get some PAS (private ambulance service) work, but it would generally be nothing more than event work and dialysis runs.

The NHS have (more or less) the monopoly on emergency ambulance work, and they have no real equivalent to EMT-B. They used to employ 'ambulance technicians', but they are being phased out in favour of the driver/ paramedic model.

Paramedics are mostly degree-level now, and competition for places at university is quite fierce.