DUI and Posssession charges, what to do

badcall10

Forum Ride Along
im a paramedic student and was recently arrested for misdemeanor dui and possession of marijuana. should i tell my school and program? will i still be able to get a license? will i kicked out of school? i have no idea what to do and any advice would be appreciated. my biggest concern is that we have to do background checks for our clinicals at the beginning of every school year and that next year my arrest will show up and ill be kicked out of school or wont be able to do clinicals then be kicked out of school. i made a mistake and still want a chance to be a paramedic. thanks.

8jimi8

CFRN
You better join NA or AA and get a sponsor, or someone who will be willing to vouch that you have been clean for the entire year, leading up to your next background check.

You need to talk to your state licensing office and find out if you will even be allowed to continue.

You might have ruined your chance for this go-around. They may want to see a history of a few years without any new arrests before they are willing to consider putting you in charge of people's pre-hospital healthcare.

OP
OP
B

badcall10

Forum Ride Along
it just ask if i have been convicted of a felony. which they are misdemeanor charges...

8jimi8

CFRN
The best advice i can give you is to proceed openly and honestly. If you can pass your school background check by answering "no" to a felony conviction that is fine; however, the state ems board will scrutinize your new arrest. It is best to contact them and ask them how to proceed. They are the final authority on your license to practice in your state.

OP
OP
B

badcall10

Forum Ride Along
the state licensing only ask about felony convictions however my school makes us do FBI background checks... not kidding. not for thier purposes but for the purpose of the clinical agreements they have with hospitals.

TripsTer

Forum Crew Member