DHS Investigation

WildlandEMT89

Forum Lieutenant
So I'm a Arizona EMT and I'm not really looking for legal advice but rather hoping to get some peace of mind on what to expect during this process.

Long story short my partner (Medic) and I (EMT)are being investigated for a complaint lodged by a former paramedic stating that we did not provide an adequate level of pt care or compassion during a call. The main complaint was that we ignored the on scene techs suggestions to backboard a prone pt (non traumatic back spasm preexisting x 2+ years) who was AOx4 and requesting being able to attempt self transfer from and exam table to the gurney. We followed our companies protocols regarding spinal motion restriction and explained our reasoning for ignoring the medic techs backboarding request to them since they had changed since their time with our company. The pt had nothing but gratitude and thanks for our treatment of them and we were very sympathetic to their pain level and situation.
My partner documented the whole situation including the pts request to attempt self transferring.

Ive never been investigated and my real concern is are these things witch hunts where were going to be assumed guilty and have to prove innocence? or are we assumed innocent and must be proven to be guilty?
Im stressing because even though I know we followed policy and did all we could to to compassionately care for the pt, the consequences if we are found guilty are probation or revoking of our state certs.

exodus

Forum Deputy Chief
You won't get in trouble. Spinal immobilization is not even indicated in patients with non-traumatic back pain. Never been investigated before, so I can't give you specifics, sorry.

wanderingmedic

RN, Paramedic
Don't stress too much. If you have malpractice this would be a good time to fill out an incident report with them, and just give them a heads up. They may have some more advice. But if you don't have malpractice, this shouldn't be a big deal.