Considering Enlisting - HELP

NPO

Forum Deputy Chief
I am an EMT-B and am considering military enlistment. I really want to join so I can get training and experience in the field(s) I will be employed in as a civilian for the rest of my life as well as serve my country and take care of the soldiers.

I would like a job in

-FireFighting
-Emergency Medicine (Preferably field, hospital/clinic would be okay..)
-SAR

I am currently in talks with NAVY but nothing is on legal paper yet.

I dont think I would have a problem qualifying for these jobs on the ASVAB, especially if I study some. So assuming I qualify for everything I want... Whats next? I would prefer reservist, but would go active too.

I have looked at the Navy AB-7012 and HM-8401. They are only 2 ratings, and specific ones. What are the chances of getting them and what else should I look at/hope for?

What about in the other branches?

The only thing stopping me from signing up today is I dont want to get put in a job I am going to hate for 4-8 years.

CALEMT

The Other Guy/ Paramaybe?
I am an EMT-B and am considering military enlistment. I really want to join so I can get training and experience in the field(s) I will be employed in as a civilian for the rest of my life as well as serve my country and take care of the soldiers.

I would like a job in

-FireFighting
-Emergency Medicine (Preferably field, hospital/clinic would be okay..)
-SAR

What about in the other branches?

USAF: Pararescue which is a combat search and rescuer medic for the USAF. They go behind enemy lines to find downed pilots, other service members. Ever watch the show "Inside Combat Rescue" That is this job.

USAF: Fire Protection. Basically paid firefighters for the personnel on the base. They respond to all types of calls.

NAVY: Corpsman. Either hospital medic or a field medic which deploys with USMC detachments.

ARMY: Medic. Paramedic in the field or hospital setting.