Communication with patients

daenerys

Forum Probie
Hi everyone. So I'm an EMT in training and we talking a lot about communication with our patients. One of the first things they tell us is to always use proper titles: Mr., Mrs., sir, ma'am, etc. I'm just wondering what everyone's thoughts are on this. Do you call patients by their first names or their proper titles? Obviously this would vary greatly from patient to patient but I just want to hear a little real world guidance. Thank you!

STXmedic

Forum Burnout
Premium Member
Talk to them like they're people. Address them how you normally would (assuming you're normally respectful...) in public. I just use whatever seems appropriate. Sometimes it's Ms/Mr first name, other times its Ms/Mr last name, and still others its just first name. It's nothing to stress over, just don't be disrespectful or an ***.

NomadicMedic

I know a guy who knows a guy.
In Delaware, a proper respectful way to address an older person is "miss Debbie" or "mister bill". I found it uncomfortable at first, now it's second nature. Sir or ma'am is never wrong. If they tell me to call them by their first name, I do. Respect goes a long way. I ALWAYS introduce myself to my patients. "Hi, I'm First and last name, one of the county paramedics. What's going on today?" They almost always tell me their name, what's wrongs and I get to shake their hand and feel their skin. I can also see if they're tracking me and able to answer a question. That first few seconds can tell you a lot.

Just talk to people like a normal person. Ask about what they do (or did) for a living, their house, the neighborhood, their dog, their kids... You have something in common with every patient. I guarantee it.

Last edited by a moderator:

DesertMedic66

Forum Troll
Pretty much Sir/Ma'am. Have of the patients we get I can't pronounce their last name.

A lot of Medics and EMTs here (myself included) just go by first name. I've yet to have a patient have an issue with that.