College EMS

EMERG2011

Forum Crew Member
Hey Everyone. I'm a new EMT-B (just got the card in the mail today), and I'm starting off on my college EMS service this coming fall. Do yall have any advice as to what to expect, or any "god I wished I had known..."s to share?

Thanks!

jazminestar

Forum Crew Member
Go to the gym or keep going if you already do.......i wish my teacher would have told me that while attending emt school....i took a month and half off and it kicked my *** when i had to get back into the groove :) not sure if that's what you were looking for but it's definetly something i wish i knew before i went full steam ahead :)

good luck!!

firecoins

IFT Puppet
get used to dealing with drunk college kids most of the time. Whatever you do, don't get vomited on.

KEVD18

Forum Deputy Chief
dont get burned out doing the same bs call over and over and over and over.

dont go and blow hundreds of dollars on cheap crap from galls. one, it will make you look like a fool and two, it will be a waste of money.

when you get toned for a call: slow down, breath deeply a few times and remember: its not your emergency

RailFan77

Forum Crew Member
One bit of advice is not to let your emotions get to you. What I've learned over the years is this:
1) Don't take anything personally. While some patients are glad you're there to help, there are others that will say things that are outright nasty and worse.
2) Don't get emotional. Don't let any call "get to you" personally. Best way to stay sane in EMS is to realize that you're there to do a job and no matter what you see, no matter how troubling the call, it's just a job. I did that and have been fine for years. But if a call does bother you personally....talk to someone....Don't bottle it up.

and on a not-so-serious note:
3) Always eat the french fries first when you order lunch....Cause they taste terrible if you have to reheat them.

Good Luck.

MaineEMTb

Forum Ride Along
and on a not-so-serious note: