College and Paramedic School?

yankeefan213

Forum Probie
I am a 16 y/o high school junior in NJ. I took the EMT-B course in Paramus over the summer, and am now volunteering at my local ambulance corps and loving every minute of it. I am also a very good student (GPA ~ 97/100, 2220 SAT, currently enrolled in 3 AP classes) and have a (remote) chance at playing baseball in college.

I hope to go to medical school, and feel that the paramedic course would offer me several advantages including patient contact/experience, practical knowledge that would be useful in medical school etc, and also a job after college were I to not get into medical school.

What I'd like to know is this: Is it feasable (has anyone done it?) to be enrolled full-time as a student in college and take a paramedic course at a community college on the side? Any insight/perspective would be appreciated.

usafmedic45

Forum Deputy Chief
patient contact/experience

It won't make you stand out on medical school applications. Probably about 1/3 of applicants have some form of EMS credential and of the several folks I know who sit on medical school admissions committees, unless you have YEARS (10+ was the figure given by two of these folks) of experience in EMS it's viewed in much the same way as if you put down "President of the Pre-Med Club; volunteered at the local free clinic and organized other volunteers too!".

The general consensus seemed to be that while working in EMS demonstrates a high tolerance for the BS associated with dealing with patients, their families and nurses it implies very little in regards to what it means to be a physician which is what they are looking for in pre-med clinical "experience". One of them went so far as to say that she and her colleagues can pretty much pick out who the Type-A personalities with short attention spans among the applicants are simply by looking to see if they list EMS experience as an extracurricular.