Career Paths after EMT

Ripley

Forum Ride Along
So I have been in community college for what seems forever and feel I am ready to move on with an associates degree vs going for a bachelors. I looked at EMT before but knew it was low pay with very little prospects of earning a good living but I keep getting a pull towards it. I was thinking I should go for my EMT cert. and start part time work while I finish my Associates and then go full time for a while and eventually move on to another career like being a dispatcher for law enforcement, the pay and benefits are great around here if you can get in.

I am wondering what other career paths EMT's have followed? Preferably good pay and in medical field/ems. Maybe I am seeing things with rose colored glasses but I think being a dispatcher would be more fulfilling to me vs. sitting in an office doing accounting. I am a Marine Corps veteran and was a truck driver for a while just thought I should mention it since I am not completely inexperienced.

mgr22

Forum Deputy Chief
If you want an EMS career, have you considered going to medic school? You won't get rich being a paramedic, but you'll make more than you would as an EMT.

Another possibility would be to go into a related healthcare field. My son-in-law, also a Marine, became a phlebotomist after his discharge. He has a good job in a hospital.

No matter what career path you choose, I think you're right to give priority to that degree.

Gurby

Forum Asst. Chief
EMT is a good stepping stone to a lot of jobs. The class is easy and doesn't take long - give it a shot!