Call for ideas: Improvising in the field

icefog

Forum Probie
As an EMS instructor, I've recently received the unenviable task of preparing a 90-minute practical training course on "planning for improvisation" (namely, what to do when a certain resource you need isn't available). It could relate to practically any challenge in the field: diagnosis, treatment, extrication, transport, etc. Some examples of what I've got so far are: improvised Heimlich valve, makeshift pelvic sling, using a SAM splint to get a baby out of the baby seat, using an extrication collar to temporary hold pressure on a neck wound when there's no other way to do it... (I know, I know...)

I'm also looking into some wilderness EMS manuals, trying to dig something out.

I'm aware of the legal issues connected to improvising in the field, and I've got that one covered (actually, that was the easy part).

So, my question is: any ideas I could work into this MacGyver show? Anything you've done or heard of that could be implemented with a reasonable chance of success?

Thanks!

Veneficus

Forum Chief
As an EMS instructor, I've recently received the unenviable task of preparing a 90-minute practical training course on "planning for improvisation" (namely, what to do when a certain resource you need isn't available). It could relate to practically any challenge in the field: diagnosis, treatment, extrication, transport, etc. Some examples of what I've got so far are: improvised Heimlich valve, makeshift pelvic sling, using a SAM splint to get a baby out of the baby seat, using an extrication collar to temporary hold pressure on a neck wound when there's no other way to do it... (I know, I know...)

I'm also looking into some wilderness EMS manuals, trying to dig something out.

I'm aware of the legal issues connected to improvising in the field, and I've got that one covered (actually, that was the easy part).