Are you an EMT or "Medic"

MMiz

I put the M in EMTLife
Community Leader
Lots of peopole ask where I work, and I started off saying that I was an EMT. Half the people didn't know what an EMT was or what they did. I now say that I'm a medic, and everyone knows what I'm taking about. My county considers a "Medic" an EMT-Paramedic, but the American Ambualance Association has a new public program to push for everyone being "Medics".

What do you say you are? How do you feel about everyone being called "Medics". Personally I like the idea of everyone being called a medic. It's less confusing, and gives the media and public a term they can use.

That's just me though.

SafetyPro2

Forum Safety Officer
There was just a big discussion on this on the Firehouse forums. The interesting thing is that most EMTs (Basic or Intermediate) think they should be called Medics and most Paramedics think only they should be called Medics.

I tend to agree that Medic is a good generic term, but I can understand where the Paramedics are coming from since in many areas, Medic and Paramedic have been synonymous for a long time. Of course, technically, they're EMTs too.

Since we're the only BLS fire department in the area, everyone (including the ER nurses) assume that we're Paramedics. We're constantly having to correct the ER staff when we come in and they ask us why we didn't do a certain ALS therapy, or make base hospital contact. They just get used to assuming anyone who shows up in a red ambulance is ALS.

lastcode

Forum Crew Member
I think for the general public, I like them just calling us all medics. But internally I like the emt designations.

ffemt8978

Forum Vice-Principal
Community Leader
I would say that it depends on the situation for me. Sometimes, especially in a large group of people, I announce myself as a medic (as if the fact that I'm getting out of the ambulance isn't enough). In a one-on-one situation, I announce myself as an EMT.