Advice Please someone is talking crap about me

Colorado Medic

Forum Probie
Someone is spreading rumors about me. I found out from some other people that came up and told me.

What should I do? I was told to go a confront him? I pissed off enough to just go to admin. To let then know what’s going on. But I was told to first go and talk to that person first.

I think the reason why he is spreading rumors is because. I took a station that he wants to work at and he ended up at a station we all hate to work at.
Our company is based on seniority to where you can pick your own station if you have the seniority to work there.

The rumors I have head is that I am a bad paramedic; I am weak, and so on.
I have worked with this guy a few times and we got along good, but now he is talking crap about me.

Help

SwissEMT

Forum Lieutenant
Only thing you should do is prove him wrong.

Be the best damn medic people have seen around and his credibility will be worth less than a grain of afghani sand.
Seriously, sometimes this EMS world gets ugly, the best way to counteract rumors is the debunk them. Just do good medicine and don't let the little tool get to you, in the end you'll be stronger than he/she will ever be.

-

akflightmedic

Forum Deputy Chief
Seriously...how long have you been in EMS??

This is a daily occurrence in EMS, we cut each other up all the time. Get a stronger spine and get used to it.

Having said that, the best thing you can do is ignore it. Go about your routine and be the best that you can be. You have no one to answer to but your supervisors and if they see you doing the job you were hired to do, they could care less what rumor is being spread.