68w

lampnyter

Forum Captain
Im currently an EMT-B and i am considering joining the army. My question is will ihave to take the Basic course all over again or can i skip it and go straight to the other courses.

Combat_Medic

Forum Crew Member
As long as your NREMT is still valid when you get to AIT you get to skip the EMT side and go to the company getting ready to start the whiskey side. When I was at fort sam 2 yrs ago the EMT side was 7 wks.

OP
OP
lampnyter

lampnyter

Forum Captain
Hmm in not NREMT, im just state certified. Should i take the NREMT test? And what is AIT? I dont know any military terms as of now lol.

Combat_Medic

Forum Crew Member
AIT is Advanced Individual Training (medic school). You go to Fort Sam in Tx. for medic training after you complet basic training. And yes you should take the NREMT before going off to basic training. They may let you challenge the NREMT but again they may not. Just save your the pain and take the NREMT before you go.

citizensoldierny

Forum Captain
You need to be like " fit" to join the Army in general. The minute you hit your training company in basic you will be doing PT under the watchful loving care of a brown hat.:) You don't have to be an olympic athlete by any means but the better you train before you get there the better off you'll be. I hit Ft. Sill in early May at 245lbs but passing tape. Left in August after 4 months of Field Artillery training at 210 lbs. You also need to be free from a large list of diseases and disabilities, asthma, heart conditions, major bone issues etc. . The best person to ask is your friendly local recruiter.

EMT11KDL

Forum Asst. Chief
Ok, I do not have current up to date information on ACASP! (Army Civilian Acquired Skills Program). With this, if you have training from the civilian side, it can be used on the military side, also sometimes added bonus and Rank (up to SPC, pay grade e-4)