4YO Partial Siezure

emtCstock

Forum Crew Member
I'm an emt-b and this happened recently

(I currently work at this store awaiting a job for the ambulance service in my county, so I have only put an honest 24 hours in the field so I'm not used to real life scenes yet)

So a 4 year old at the store is sitting in the cart seat and starts to show signs of a partial seizure and signs of AMS. If his breathing is adequate and chest rise is bilateral. He wasn't having body spasms but just more of finger spasms and the common eye rolls. When his mother called 911 they said place him on his right side.

Would you say that's how you would manage his airway until ems arrived?

Are you able to place in neutral and hyper extend the neck?

I know i'll learn as I experience situations more, but I feel this should have been an easy one for me.

OP
OP
emtCstock

emtCstock

Forum Crew Member
Also not sure why the 911 dispatch said right side rather than the left, not sure if that makes a difference or not.

fast65

Doogie Howser FP-C
To manage the airway in this child I would say to place him on his side. In the case that he vomits, it will help prevent him from aspirating. As far as left vs right side, it makes no difference, at least to the best of my knowledge.

OP
OP
emtCstock

emtCstock

Forum Crew Member
Okay right on. It just made me wonder why I wasn't sure to do, maybe because ive never been on a call of a ped with a seizure. Not sure, I was calm but just puzzled.

mycrofft

Still crazy but elsewhere
Rt side is often cited as preferable because many people are more comfortable on that side, maybe because that puts heart on top of greater mass of lungs?
Are we talking about an asymmetrical presentation of symptoms? Like a focal seizure?

themooingdawg

Forum Crew Member