When should I feel comfortable?

Caspar

Forum Crew Member
I have been volunteering for about 5 months now and still don't feel totally confident in my abilities. The problem is that my agency doesn't really have a large call volume and rarely gets anything very life threatening or traumatic. Therefore, I don't really practice my skills daily. On the occasion we get something serious, I freeze and for some reason forget all the protocols. How long does it take to feel comfortable with everything?

Qulevrius

Nationally Certified Wannabe
How long does it take to feel comfortable with everything?

May sound funny, but - it takes as long as it takes. If your system doesn't have a high volume of calls, maybe pick up a different system to volly with, or volly for 2 systems simultaneously ?

Also, what kind of skills do you have to practice daily to feel comfortable doing your job ?

MMiz

I put the M in EMTLife
Community Leader
It's not as easy as finding an answer on the internet.

I never felt comfortable working with pediatric patients, because I so rarely worked with the population in private EMS.

Fake it until you make it. Have your protocols easily accessible as reference. I used to use this all the time.

Good luck!

OP
OP
C

Caspar

Forum Crew Member
May sound funny, but - it takes as long as it takes. If your system doesn't have a high volume of calls, maybe pick up a different system to volly with, or volly for 2 systems simultaneously ?

Also, what kind of skills do you have to practice daily to feel comfortable doing your job ?

I'm talking about being comfortable with the trauma skills when those types of calls come. Medical calls I'm pretty ok with as they don't require much interventions from us. It's when we get the amputation or apneic patient or something to that degree where I would start to become flustered.

Qulevrius