whats the difference?

ericcoch

Forum Probie
I am a EMT B looking at becoming an I in the next few months. Here in Vermont we seem to have a few different I's I87, I90, I03, and I think 1 more. I am just wondering if anyone knows or has links to the skill differences. I am guessing that the numbers refer to years of matterial or something so do newer years include all of the older matterial?

thanks for any help

MSDeltaFlt

RRT/NRP
I am a EMT B looking at becoming an I in the next few months. Here in Vermont we seem to have a few different I's I87, I90, I03, and I think 1 more. I am just wondering if anyone knows or has links to the skill differences. I am guessing that the numbers refer to years of matterial or something so do newer years include all of the older matterial?

thanks for any help

Go medic. That way you won't have to worry about it.

OP
OP
E

ericcoch

Forum Probie
most parts of vermont do not have medics:wacko:, so that is not an option for me, i would love to, but in my area there are only 2 providers that due and jobs are very hard to get, you can not even take an emt level course unless you are affiliated with a rescue org.

OP
OP
E

ericcoch

Forum Probie
thanks i saw that too, on the testing paper work it has boxes for I 03 or I 90, I guess that I will the office next week some time

marineman

Forum Asst. Chief
Go paramedic anyway, even if you have a paramedic cert and work as an I or even a B you're getting experience and you will always have your medic. And there's a whole lot more opportunities for a medic than just riding on the truck.

Paranini

Forum Probie
The only two EMT-I certs I know of are the EMT-I 85 and EMT-I 99, per NREMT anyway. I believe the difference is the EMT-I 85 is IV, ETT and like 7-8 drugs allowed to administer while the EMT-I 99 allows for cardiac monitoring and further resp treatments as well (almost a paramedic but not quite). I've heard it called EMT Enhanced and EMT Intermediate as well.