What was your biggest screw up ?

Ms.Medic

Forum Captain
Okay, I want to know what your biggest screw up has been since you've been in the field, and what did you learn from it. Dont post anything mean about others screw ups though, its all only to learn from. Thanks guys. Mine was obviously about not taking our monitor in and running a strip for the paramedic, and I learned that I should have just taken the darn thing in and ran it. It could have sped up pt. care. lol.

PapaBear434

Forum Asst. Chief
I was a Basic Trainee. I was taught in training to always check the entire limb when someone says that something on it hurts. I was about to be released, and I got intellectually lazy.

We had a guy that slipped on the stairs, a diabetic that couldn't feel his feet anymore. This guy was about 70, but he was in really good shape and HUGE. Ex basketball player and college coach, he was about 6'8" and claims that it hurt right above his left knee, no higher than mid thigh, and felt like a pulled muscle. In fact, he was SURE that it was a pulled muscle, had that one pulled a few years before, so he just wanted us to pick him and put him up in the chair.

So, we cut his pants up to about mid thigh, look at it, feel it... No deformities, discoloration, bleeding... Nothing. So, we respect his wishes, and get a rolling chair over by him to help move him to the sofa. But when we go to pick him up, his left leg bows at a REALLY weird angle, and he starts to yell. Even an idiot trainee like me can tell that this is bad, so we put him down and decide to cut the rest of the way up. Lo and behold, up at the top of his leg is a nice little bump, standing about two inches off the surface.

Femoral fracture, upper leg, right below the socket.

So, yeah, splinted leg to the other,long boarded him, and off we went.

abckidsmom

Dances with Patients