What shape should EMTs/Medics Be In

fireemslife

Forum Ride Along
Im not saying that their should be yearly fitness tests or anything like that but I think that we should all be in decent shape b/c we all know we do a lot more physical labor than the public thinks. I'm in pretty good shape being 18 I lift and run. What do you guys think?

NREMT08

Forum Probie
Well, I am an EMT, and I have started running, and lifting weights because I am trying to pass the agility test, to get onto the fire academy, honestly, if I didn't have to, I wouldn't, I don't like running, I don't mind lifting weights, but it's not my favorite thing to do, an I hate pain, so after a crap load of squats, I am not the most sociable person to say the least, but I am doing it because I want to make it into the academy, so...theres my itty bitty .02

AZFF/EMT

Forum Lieutenant
If you want a long as healthy as possible career you should exercise, and if you will be working fire, being physically strong sure helps a lot. It's easy to see on the fire ground who the lazy ones are and what engine/ladder companies spend work time and personal time doing PT.

EMS you will need to lift patients, use rescue tools, lift gurneys, respond all hours pof the day in high stress environments with little to no sleep. So yes weights and cardio would be a goo idea.

Fire- all of the above plus, hose lays, hose lays and more hose lays followed by reloading hose. Wearing a 35lb pack and 25 lb's of gear, while dragging a charged hoseline or carrying tools, pulling drywall and plaster. If you are not in shape, it will show. Then clear the call, start to relax and the tones drop to go help a little old lady who fell in the shower, and do it with a smile on your face.

RESPONDA

Forum Probie
Gotta do it!