What region pays the most?

SixEightWhiskey

Forum Crew Member
i'm an EMT-B and an army medic. Want to pursue EMS as a career when i get out. My GI bill will cover virtually any paramedic school i want to go to which is my plan. The question i am posing is this. If money for schooling was no object and you could choose to work/relocate anywhere in the United States as a paramedic, where would it be? And also, which part of the US has the highest paramedic pay in relation to that area's cost of living? Thanks!

DigDugDude

Forum Crew Member
well.....

Best pay from what i hear is is New York FD and Chicago FD.

Out here in Chicago the Paramedics start at 45k then get a 10k raise after
1st year then it compounds plus really good benefits. I know a couple Medics for the FD and they both have been with the department 5-8 years an both make over 85k easily.

Main problem that youll run into with cities that pay good for medics is most have waiting lists for their FD and alot are getting into the habit of cross training to be a fire fighter as well.

If you cant get into a FD right off the street the privates and hospital ED will pay around the 16-20$/hour range with some privates having call/paperowrk bonuses.

medic417

The Truth Provider
Texas.

Search the site you'll find mention of highest paying services.

STXmedic

Forum Burnout
Premium Member
Best pay from what i hear is is New York FD and Chicago FD.

Out here in Chicago the Paramedics start at 45k then get a 10k raise after
1st year then it compounds plus really good benefits. I know a couple Medics for the FD and they both have been with the department 5-8 years an both make over 85k easily.
Not bad, but it definitely gets higher than that.

Major city FDs will pay the most, and you'll have a leg up at most of them being former military. Texas and Cali are probably your best paying. Probably easier to get on in Texas though.

Thriceknight

Forum Crew Member