What Makes A Good EMT or Paramedic?

WLSC2008

Forum Crew Member
Hi! I am new to EMTLife and was just wondering what everyone’s thoughts are on the idea of what makes a good EMT or Paramedic? I have been in the EMS system for many years now. I have been an E-911 Dispatcher for an ambulance service where I live and have created some great relationships and also love the environment and the excitement.
For many years now I have thought about getting my EMT-B certification and taking a job at the squad where I dispatch at. I signed up for a first responder class but that was cancelled due to a lack of participants.
In the spring at my college I attend full time they are offering an EMT-B certification class and I am going to sign up for. I am excited and thrilled that it is a class that I want to take for my self.
Anyone have any thoughts on this subject of what makes a good EMT?

Would love to hear your advice. I have honestly thrown it around in my head that I was not sure I could do it. But I think I am going to try.

Thanks!

Ridryder911

EMS Guru
There are many attributes on being a good EMT, Paramedic or just a good health care professional.

These are the attributes I look for in a student, employee, peer

1 Passion for the career. More than just wanting to look good or have all the toys, such as whacker. One should actually enjoy helping people, and in the profession to grow, mature, and be better for the patients benefit. At the same time realize, it is a job, not a hobby and with it there a limitations.

2. Knowledge. Can't say enough. One must have a thorough knowledge in sciences, medicine, and have the ability to perform it as well. As with above, a passion and understanding to never be stagnant and want to continue to learn.