Western Australia scope of practice

jakecwu

Forum Ride Along
I'm a US paramedic who's just completed an application for St. John's WA. I'm having a bit of trouble discerning the language though, regarding scope of practice. I note that most other AUS services use the terms ambulance officer, paramedic, and mobile intensive care paramedic; whereas St. John's uses Paramedic 1,2, and 3. What's the equivalency?

I currently work in a progressive fire based EMS system that has almost exclusively offline direction. I typically consult with a physician 2-3 times a year. Our system's scope mirrors that of most AUS MICP's (as far as I can tell), with some medication differences, but retaining things like RSI, chest decompression, surgical airway and the like.

I do hold a BS in paramedics from an accredited US university.

Based on all of that and 14 years on the road time, what can I expect as far as scope of practice should I be hired?

Thanks for all your time.

G-

McGoo

Forum Crew Member
How did you go with your job application? Not sure if you are still info or not, but here is some anyway:

Paramedics in WA are roughly equivalent to EMT-P level, without RSI, CPAP, and some drugs. The levels 1, 2, and 3 simply denote length of service and appropriate pay.
Everyone starts as an ambulance officer (except for appropriately trained imported people) and works their way up to paramedic. Its a graduated system where you start on road at essentially EMT-B level (with knowledge of advanced procedures and drugs, but no experience), and over the next 3 years you add skills through additional training.