Well, It Happened...

Phillyrube

Leading Chief
Geez, look at me. 72 years old. Fireman in 1968 to 1970, volunteer and then paid. Whoops, along comes the draft. JoiN the Navy. Become a helo crewman. Jump out of helicopters rescuing people ( never needed to but practiced a lot). Made 4 Med cruises and a lot of smaller ones. Fought a flight deck fire that killed 14. Did 20 years in the Navy.
When I was ashore I was a volunteer firefighter and EMT. Got my paramedic cert. Jumped a lot of stretchers up and down skinny steps. Pried fat old ladies out of bathtubs and from around toilets.
Got hired by the cops and retired after 24 on the cops. Worked another 4: years in the ED. Humped more stretchers and still did 911. In 2017 I hung up my Littman. 45 some odd years.
Now look at life. Jumping out of good airplanes. Fighting fire, humping patients around, riding and dumping a couple along the way. Skiing and falling down a couple mountains, weird sex.
A year ago I started having pain in my right gluteus. Pulled muscle, who knows. Couldn't lift my leg enough to get on my bike for daily rides. Now I had a hip replaced in 2020 so maybe the other hip is crapping out. My surgeon gets X-rays and says no changes since 2020, I can't help you. So I go to two pain docs who try PT, dry needling, and 3 cortisone shots. They do an MRI and guess what? Synovial cyst, L5-S1. Of course there's some age related arthritis and stenosis but fortunately no damage from lifting. So I gotta get some bone removed so they can get the cyst that is pinching my sciatic nerve so I'm going to get some high temp titanium rods.
Document ANY tweak or pain you get. I e hurt my back a few times and reported it all. Being an EMS dinosaur I've got medicare and Tricare to pay for all this but you kids don't. Watch your backs ( and the rest of you.)

Last edited:

VentMonkey

Family Guy