Washington Paramedic Jobs

RickyP

Forum Probie
Hey everyone! My wife is an officer in the Navy and we will be moving to Whidbey Island in early Feb. I have read a lot about EMTs job opportunities but I was wondering about Paramedic jobs. I have several years experience in 911 and just recently got my Critical Care Paramedic Cert and have been doing that for about a year. I really wanted to get into the flight thing but I see that WA only hire RNs for their flight crews. Im not a FF so that is out, although I wouldn’t be opposed to a service putting me through fire school if thats what it took.

Any advice on the good, bad, and ugly service would be appreciated. If anyone could clue me on some pay figures that would be great too.

Thanks

RP

lightsandsirens5

Forum Deputy Chief
Ah ha ha! Good luck on the medic job over on the west side.

I don't know a whole lot about over there. I'm from the Spokane area. Buy from what people tell me, open medic jobs are few and far between on that side. I believe anymore most EMS on the west side is fire based, but I could be wrong.

I can tell you this though, if KCMO has an opening, don't blink cause it might disappear. Just take it and then ask questions.

Good luck man. And what does your wife do in the Navy. My dad spent 30 years in, so I'm a Navy brat through and through.

OP
OP
R

RickyP

Forum Probie
Thanks for the reply. My wife is a navigator on the P-3 Orion aircraft. It's an old school sub-hunter.

I have read a little about KCMO. Don't they require all new hires to go through their training program regardless of experience? I have heard its really long and pretty much like going through Medic school again. That would suck.

Well, I hope its not too hard to find a job.

Thanks for the input. I look forward to more if you got it.

FP

NomadicMedic

I know a guy who knows a guy.
As far as medic jobs in Western Washington, you may have a hard time finding anything. They are few and far between.