Top 10 reasons why I became an EMT.

Stephanie.

Forum Captain

10. I had no other plans to do with my life.

9. Prove to others I could do it, and did.

8. Running lights and sirens are the shizznit.

7. I LOVE helping people.

6 .....I get to cut clothes off.... :-D

5. Job security, thanks to stupid people

4. 24/48 rocks!

3. I get to hang out with a bunch of firemen... HELL YEA!

2. The uniforms aren't bad!

1. I'd rather be a lifesaver than a gobstopper.

Now that about sums mine up, some of yours may be similar... But I am interested in seeing why y'all became EMTs.

firecoins

IFT Puppet
Some reason I am an EMT-P

- I wanted to post on EMTLife

- I wanted something more risky than my acting career. This way I can fall on my acting career in case EMS doesn't work out.

- Chuck Norris round housed my last career planes.

fast65

Doogie Howser FP-C
1. I wanted to be a firefighter, found out I had to be a paramedic around here, then fell in love with EMS during my EMT-B class

2. Medicine fascinates me

3. I'm intrigued by the way we get to see people from every end of the social spectrum

4. People are incredibly interesting, and I love how we get to experience every single human emotion and dig deep into what is truly wrong with our patients

5. I love the feeling of helping people

Last edited by a moderator:

fma08

Forum Asst. Chief
In all honesty it was curiosity really. My dad had been an emt and tried to scare me into being a better drive with horror stories. Out of curiosity I took the emt basic class. Now I'm a paramedic and I want to go to medical school. Funny how life turns out.

clibb

Forum Captain
1. I like taking care of people. I was always the one taking care of the drunker people at parties haha.
2. Medicine is fun and very interesting.
3. I want to be an ER Doc so this gives me good experience in the EMS field.
4. I get to cut clothes off people