Teaching CPR

lampnyter

Forum Captain
Im a CPR instructor and i wanted to start teaching privately. Ive only taught for the company i work for and i was wondering what you guys think would be a fair price to charge for the classes.

MMiz

I put the M in EMTLife
Community Leader
I'd check to see what other people in your area are charging, take into account your costs, and then set a fair price.

johnrsemt

Forum Deputy Chief
when I used to do it, I would set mine lower than the FD's and hospitals and then give quantity discounts: 1-5 was $40, 6-10 was $35, etc. also do discounts if I had 2-3 or 4 classes at same place in same day, or weekend. I taught one company out of town over a 3 day weekend: did 14 classes and over 200 people for $30 a person. Gave $5 discount per person on recerts from people I taught 2 years ago; sent them postcards to remind them.
It was costing me about $12 per person to teach them; and I could make decent money: the 2 years I really pushed it hard I made about $20-25,000. almost as much as my base pay before OT.

Also lower if I taught at their office or home.

FreezerStL

Forum Crew Member
I'd check to see what other people in your area are charging, take into account your costs, and then set a fair price.
For sure.
I mean i know one guy that charges like $60 an hour.
Prices are relevant. Sometimes you are worth what others are willing to pay.

mycrofft

Still crazy but elsewhere
OK, that's one guy, start making phone calls.

Consider getting on board with an established training company or trainer to learn the ropes first. I've been dinking around with it for two years now and am just starting to get my feet wet. I used to train within my department and my Guard unit, but hitting the real world is very, very different.
Questions to answer to yourself: