Studying Techniques

ellesbelles23

Forum Ride Along
Hi everyone,

I just started my EMT-B course and am not doing that well. I understand all of the material am studying every day and night, but didn't do well on the quiz today. There are online multiple choice quizzes for every chapter and I'm also for the most part not doing that great. I'm trying every study technique that I've done in college and has worked, but it isn't helping. All of this put together is incredibly frustrating, because I know the material and I'm studying non-stop. Do any of you have any advice on how to study or things I should be doing?

Thanks,
Ella

nwhitney

Forum Captain
First thing I would suggest is to talk with your instructor. Ask her/him for advice to be successful in class.

Are you asking questions in class? In a study group? How are you studying? Are you taking other classes at the time? What's your life like outside of school? Work? Family? Other stresses?

There are many variables that affect how we learn so don't focus solely on study techniques. People also learn differently and are often a blend of learning styles. Do you know the best way for you to learn? Hands on? Lecture?

I know this may sound silly but sit in the front row if possible. I find as a student I'm more engaged in the lecture/discussion portion. Also surround yourself with successful classmates and ask them what they are doing.

Don't be afraid to ask questions in class no matter how stupid you think the question is. You're paying (I assume) to be there so do everything you can to be successful.

bigbaldguy

Former medic seven years 911 service in houston
It might also be a good idea to ask the instructor for the class average. You might not be doing as poorly as you think. For instance if you have a 68 and the class average is a 75 then it may be more of a problem with the tests.