Studying for tests....any suggestions?

omak42

Forum Crew Member
I am currently an EMT-B in WA. I am applying for my paramedic schooling, along with an internship that will pay for it. A lot rides on how well I test....so I was wondering if anyone had any suggestion for studying material or techniques.

I currently work and volunteer as an EMT, so I get the hands on experience in all the time. However we all now the hands on and the written tests are a lot different. Ive been going over my notes from my EMT class, along with going through my book. But everytime I start reading I get to a part and think to myself "oh I already now this", so I skip that part. Well eventually I just start flipping through the pages saying that about everything.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

BossyCow

Forum Deputy Chief
Are there other students in the class that can get together with you to run scenarios? Doing assessments and practicals together as a group helps tremendously, especially if you can get some more experienced member of your agency to supervise and critique your performance.

OP
OP
O

omak42

Forum Crew Member
Unfortunately there is no class for me to do this with. The school and agency are in another state, so I am unable to meet with people to work scenarios with. The best I can do is run scenarios with partners at work...

el Murpharino

Forum Captain
If it's a multiple choice test you have to take, what I've found is getting a book (I have Barrons, in addition to the Mosby) with loads of multiple choice questions. You can get the Barrons book at any Borders or Barnes & Noble's, and each answer comes with a small explanation on why it is the right answer. Good luck on your test.