Starting Paramedic school in August..1 yr program..what to expect?

crashh

Forum Crew Member
I just got my EMT, and will be starting paramedic school in August!

It is a one year program. I'm going in as a basic, so I'm trying to get a leg-up on it all...any advice as to what I could start looking at?

Also, what should I expect?

any and all information appreciated!

ps-i love this forum!

Achilles

Forum Moron
Have you taken any med termonology or anatomy and physiology?

OP
OP
C

crashh

Forum Crew Member
not yet, just what I learned in EMT

NYMedic828

Forum Deputy Chief
My assumption would be to expect paramedic related stuff...

Idk why there's 3 of these threads every other day. Not to be a **** but why does everyone make EMT/paramedic class out to be like there is some secret stuff that is goin on that isn't in the course outline...

The classes are usually too easy and could be self taught to begin with.

You are goin to sit for lectures, go on rotations/clinicals and take a few tests. That's it... Nothing more, hopefully nothing less. It's just an expanded EMT class that more than likely without going the extra mile on your own won't teach you enough to be at a level respected by the rest of the medical world.

Sorry, guess I'm a bit disgruntled I can't stand my partner today.

Last edited by a moderator:

STXmedic

Forum Burnout
Premium Member
Well... He did love this site... :unsure:

As mentioned before, A&P is an important area to have down. That's the foundation upon everything that you will be learning.

After you've got A&P down, some areas to get a head start in that can be easily self-taught could be ECGs and pharm.