Start Basic Training Sept. 9.....NEED ADVICE/POINTERS FOR PREPARING!

Chall09

Forum Probie
Dear EMS Advocates,

I'm 23 years old and recently graduated college at OSU with a BA in English. Recently I've decided to go back to school in the Fall (classes start Sept. 9) for EMT-Basic and I wanted to ask anybody (everybody) for advice on how I should prepare myself for my classes.

I have a little of a month to prepare and I've recently just bought my textbook. I'll be taking CPR training (EMS 171) concurrently with EMS 100. I have no background in anotomy (zero) and I know very little of what awaits me regarding everything associated with EMS. My dad was a ER doctor and I think he might have passed down a need to help people directly because this is, for now, what I want to do with my life.

In short I'm excited and eager to do well in my studies. I'm not sure if a BA in English (it should be a BA in socializing) has prepared me for anything that awaits. I do know, however, that pursuing that degree has given me growth in many areas.

If you could please respond to me on the best route to prepare for classes I would really appreciate it.

-Chall09

ericg533

Forum Probie
EMT-B basic in Wisconsin is a walk in the park for a college student. When I took it, I didn't study at all, got an A in the class, and passed the NREMT and practical on the first attempt. It will probably be similar wherever you are.

OP
OP
C

Chall09

Forum Probie
I was no perfect student in college Ericg533. I fell in love with the student life (Football, basketball, parties lol) but still managed to get A's, B's, C's with the help of alot of people. I was like this in college I think mostly because I didn't have a clear idea of what I wanted to become of me. I still don't, in fact. I knew helping people was the goal but the area has alluded me for a while. Thanks for responding so quickly thought man!

medic417

The Truth Provider