South African ALS qualification: Reciprocity ??

Ian Philbrick

Forum Probie
I am a Paramedic in South Africa. Does any reciprocity exist for registering my qualification in the US.

Will I have to undergo some sort of evaluation? If so what, and can you give me some contacts etc.

From what I have read it seems strange that there is no National Curriculum and Registration process in the US. In SA we have one Statuatory Body that we register with. They determine our protocols, CPD and accredit colleges for training. Once you are qualified and registered, you can go and work anywhere in the country. See www.hpcsa.co.za if you are interested.

I studied for 3 years doing a National Diploma at a Technikon (now called University of Technology). We seem to have quite a wide scope of practice compared to what I percieve you in have in the US.

Regards,

IAN

Ridryder911

EMS Guru
Unfortunately, we might have started progressive EMS but we dropped the ball, many years ago. We much rather run on pride and ability to pat ourselves on the back than progress here. Our systems are antiquated and fragmented... basically a mess!

Now, to answer your question, I would look into what state and area you are focusing into. Each state and even some local municipalities have certain requirements.. again, everyone wants to rule their own. To find out their specific requirements.

Next, I would contact National Registry of EMT's. They are more our "certifying" body in about 42 states or at least states allow reprocicity to take their state examination. Here is a link: www.nremt.org and talk to them personally. I am sure you are well qualified, after talking to other S. Africa medics.