Reciprocal ECG changes???

VirginiaEMT

Forum Lieutenant
I am an EMT-I student. I am trying to study more about reciprocal ECG changes and I have looked at three textbooks and there is very little information in them about the subject, or just maybe I am freaking out over something that is really not that big of a deal. I ask other medics and to be honest, I'm not sure they know.

Here's my question. Will reciprocal changes only be seen in the same leads every time? As an example, if I have ST elevation in leads II and aVF, will I only see reciprocal changes in the same leads everytime? Would ST depression in ANY lead help verify the findings in the inferior leads?

Where can I go to find info about this subject? My concern is this, if I need to call in a STEMI alert, are the findings in the inferior leads enough info to base this decision on?

Maine iac

Forum Lieutenant
In answer to your question, yeah recip changes will be seen in the same leads every time. Think of the heart as a balloon. If I push one side of the balloon in, the opposite side of the balloon pushes out. The side that is being pushed in is where the active MI is occurring (ST elevation). Lots of damage causing destruction, but because of the balloon model the opposite side is also effected (in this case ST depression).

In real life if the infarct is bad enough you will see reciprocal changes. A classic example is your inferior MI (elevation in II, III, AvF) which causes changes in Avl and some of the other lateral leads. You won't see depression in V1 or V2 though because it is a different part of the heart and not opposite of the infarct.

(there are people here who can give you a clearer description)