Questions for professionals.

us_linguist

Forum Ride Along
Hey guys. I'm coming up on the end of my military service (combat medical experience along with my linguistics) and I'm interested in a job in public safety. I have 9 years of military experience and I'm currently taking the EMT 1:Basic Training course so I'll have the standard EMT certification.

The question I had is I'm very interested in jobs such as search and rescue. You know, the guys I see pulling people out of flooded rivers and such. Where does one look for these jobs? What separate qualifications are needed?

Any help would be most appreciated. Thanks!

~Steve

fm_emt

Useless without caffeine
Check with the County Sheriff department. Around here, the Santa Clara County Sheriff has a decent S&R setup.

Otherwise we have the 129th Air Rescue Wing out of Moffett Field. It's a California Air National Guard unit.

KEVD18

Forum Deputy Chief
i couldnt tell you where to start in monterey. been there a few times(sly mcflys on cannery row comes to mind) but dont know any thing abiut that industry out there

now out my way, then we could talk

jeepmedic

Forum Captain
Maybe look into the Coast Guard.

OP
OP
U

us_linguist

Forum Ride Along
Thing is I'm not staying around here in Monterey. I'm a southern boy and it looks like I'm headed back to the Georgia-Alabama area. I was more asking in a general view such as I didn't know the Sheriff's Department would handle S&R. Do all Sheriff's Departments handle S&R? I did find out from my brother-in-law (firefighter / EMT in Habersham Co) that I should hit up the GEMA website and FEMA sites.

And yes, Kev, Cannery Row is great.

Thanks guys! But what about qualifications? Are there separate classes for S&R?

~Steve

premedtim

Forum Lieutenant
I would check with either your local fire department or sheriff's department. My friend in Sacramento is doing a mountain S&R program...it's a separate class and volunteer, not paid, but it's S&R. *shrugs*

OP
OP
U