NRP - Recertification/Agency Affliation

CDFurn

Forum Probie
I've achieved certification as an NRP and recently received my State card here in California. My question pertains to recertification of my National Registry in two years. I work as a Park Ranger and see some calls for service. Though we are considered first responders, our scope is limited.

With regard to recertification, NR requires 6 months of verifiable experience working EMS (or in a hospital/clinic???) to apply for inactive status (not currently working EMS). I've talked to NR on the phone multiple times with limited success. Does anyone have any experiences they'd like to share or good advice on this subject?

In addition, my employer has tapped me to become our CPR instructor. As previously mentioned (we have a limited scope ie Heartsaver/FA). Down the line I plan to move the department up to BLS, possibly higher depending. Some of my coworkers hold First Responder/EMT-B certifications. Would it be worth while to affiliate my agency with NR???

Make it rain...

OP
OP
CDFurn

CDFurn

Forum Probie
Anyone.....Anyone.....Bueller.....:sad:

Any advice on the best classes to take to re-certify, aside from the necessary acronyms that go with a license (ACLS, ITLS etc...)?

Seems like some classes cover more of the "core sections" as defined by NR. What's the best bang for your buck, good classes for newer medics?

PotatoMedic

Has no idea what I'm doing.
Are you affiliated as a paramedic anywhere such as the forest service?

OP
OP
CDFurn

CDFurn

Forum Probie
No, I'm not. I found out my agency is not "affiliated". I'm attempting to get them to that status, but it's unclear whether or not that is something I can do. We don't have a Training Officer per say by job title, but I fill that role by teaching CPR and First Aid. Does that mean the NR will allow me to affiliate?(again I'm trying to find out through them concurrently)

I will post any information I get from the NR as it come in.

DiverMedic