Nj ems

djmedic913

Forum Lieutenant
So I am obviously new here but not new to EMS. Any way I have a few questions...or a lot of questions about NJ EMS (I have already been told to run away from NJ EMS but that is not an option).
I am currently a nationally registered Paramedic, NH medic as well as a NY medic (until Sept when it expires). I am currently living and working in NH but we are looking to move to be closer to family in NJ.

I stumbled upon this site while looking for info on Atlanticare and I know there were at least 2 medics for atlanticare on here...and they actually both seemed to love it there...
But here are my questions:

Is there a way I could get a copy of the NJ Paramedic protocols?

How are medics usually deployed? Are you 911 only? Transfers only? a mix (scheduled 911 & transfer days, you start 911 but if a transfer comes in they pull you from rotation, etc)?

Do you know what starting average pay is NJ?

Is there a union?

How are the benefits?

My wife seems interested in the Jackson, Egg Harbor and surrounding areas for us to live...any suggestions on companies to approach?

how busy is it? Is there a lot of violence? More trauma? More medical? or about equal?

I have worked in an urban setting for quite some time. I apologize for the ton of questions, but trying to as much info as I can before I plunge head first.

Thank you for your time in advance.
DJ

firecoins

IFT Puppet
unless you are affiliated with a hospital you will not be doing transfers. Those are left for RNs.

Try and keep the NY Medic. Even from Egg harbor, it gives you options. People commute from further from egg harbor to NYC. I would look to St. Vinnie's in Manhattan for a refresher. FDNY EMS is looking for medics and you could select St. Island. There are other employers in St. Island.

Jersey City and Newark I am told are always looking but I do not know this to be true.

Jon

Administrator
Community Leader
NJ EMS is a confusing system.