Nightmare: trauma, neurovascular is good before backboard but gone after (paralyzed)

J B

Forum Lieutenant
Has this ever happened to anyone?

Basically you arrive at scene, patient is a&ox4. Stabilize c-spine, assess pulse/motor/sensory and everything seems okay. After you get them on the backboard, motor and sense are gone from extremities. Sometime between you getting there and putting them on the backboard, some damage occurred to the spinal cord and now they're paralyzed.

Also, what if the act of straightening out the c-spine from the position you found them in causes paralysis?

I'm still a student, but just thinking that this would probably be a lot worse than having a patient die on you....

Handsome Robb

Youngin'
Premium Member
Happened to me. Vent dependent quadriplegic from drunkenly riding his bicycle into a construction trench one night. Progressed from numbness tingling to full paralysis from the neck down, lost his respiratory drive soon after we got to the trauma bay.

Often the damage is already done or there's no way around it happening no matter how careful you are. There isn't a whole lot of clearance in your spinal canal and your spinal cord is fragile. Also, swelling is progressive. It's very possible the swelling caused the paralysis and it didn't have anything to do with how you handled the patient.

I understand where you're coming from about paralysis being worse than death and I partially agree however if you're paralyzed you can still see your loved ones, talk to them, receive hugs and kisses from them....that sounds better than being dead to me...

If you're asking about can we be held responsible? If you didn't follow your protocols or performed a skill negligently then you could potentially be held accountable.

Medic Tim

Forum Deputy Chief
Premium Member